WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Episode 511 August 13, 2020 01:01:06
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'
Witchpolice Radio
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Aug 13 2020 | 01:01:06

/

Hosted By

Sam Thompson

Show Notes

There’s an excellent new (old) documentary out now about Winnipeg’s mid-‘00s hardcore scene, called [*The Manitoba Connection*](http://www.zellcoproductions.com/projects/the-manitoba-connection/). Here's a conversation with two guys whose bands were integral parts of that scene — Cam Scott (Under Pressure) and Russ Wardell (DSC, Hard Boiled). We talked about the film (directed by [Brian Barnhart](http://www.imdb.com/name/nm7224707/?ref_=tt_ov_dr)), their experiences in that tight-knit musical community, bands that time forgot, reflections on punk rock and society, and a whole lot more. I included some tracks in here by the likes of Under Pressure, [Hard Boiled](http://winnipeghardcorearchive.bandcamp.com/album/hard-boiled-demo-1998), [The Insaniacs](http://theinsaniacs.bandcamp.com/), and [Fuckmorgue](http://eyeandearcontrol.bandcamp.com/album/dead-i-will-not-be-forgotten). Check out the film today on Amazon Prime! This episode brought to you by [Lana Winterhalt](http://lanawinterhalt.bandcamp.com/), [Sean Burns](http://seanburns.bandcamp.com/), and [Unscripted Moments](http://unscriptedmoments.libsyn.com/)! Don’t forget to check out some socially-distanced shows at [the Park Theatre](http://www.myparktheatre.com/), who have slowly reopened after a long COVID-19 closure. Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case!

Other Episodes

Episode 665

February 17, 2022 00:56:59
Episode Cover

WR665: Quinton Blair

I had a great conversation (as always) with country singer, songwriter, and now backwoods guide, Quinton Blair.We talked about shifting his focus to intimate...

Listen

Episode 266

January 17, 2018 00:57:49
Episode Cover

WR266: Panicland

They may be one of the youngest acts we've ever had on the podcast, but they're already one of the most popular. Up-and-coming pop...

Listen

Episode 730

October 07, 2022 00:42:25
Episode Cover

WR730: The Rainy Day Apparel

Carman, Manitoba singer-songwriter Nathan Strange, a/k/a The Rainy Day Apparel, is on the show talking about his new EP, being inspired by the stories...

Listen