WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Episode 511 August 13, 2020 01:01:06
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'
Witchpolice Radio
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Aug 13 2020 | 01:01:06

/

Hosted By

Sam Thompson

Show Notes

There’s an excellent new (old) documentary out now about Winnipeg’s mid-‘00s hardcore scene, called [*The Manitoba Connection*](http://www.zellcoproductions.com/projects/the-manitoba-connection/). Here's a conversation with two guys whose bands were integral parts of that scene — Cam Scott (Under Pressure) and Russ Wardell (DSC, Hard Boiled). We talked about the film (directed by [Brian Barnhart](http://www.imdb.com/name/nm7224707/?ref_=tt_ov_dr)), their experiences in that tight-knit musical community, bands that time forgot, reflections on punk rock and society, and a whole lot more. I included some tracks in here by the likes of Under Pressure, [Hard Boiled](http://winnipeghardcorearchive.bandcamp.com/album/hard-boiled-demo-1998), [The Insaniacs](http://theinsaniacs.bandcamp.com/), and [Fuckmorgue](http://eyeandearcontrol.bandcamp.com/album/dead-i-will-not-be-forgotten). Check out the film today on Amazon Prime! This episode brought to you by [Lana Winterhalt](http://lanawinterhalt.bandcamp.com/), [Sean Burns](http://seanburns.bandcamp.com/), and [Unscripted Moments](http://unscriptedmoments.libsyn.com/)! Don’t forget to check out some socially-distanced shows at [the Park Theatre](http://www.myparktheatre.com/), who have slowly reopened after a long COVID-19 closure. Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case!

Other Episodes

Episode 429

October 24, 2019 00:32:43
Episode Cover

WR429: Roger('s) Arsenal

You might know singer-songwriter [Roger's Arsenal](http://rogersarsenal.bandcamp.com) for his roles in a number of Winnipeg bands over the years, or for his heart-wrenching solo material,...

Listen

Episode 676

March 31, 2022 00:34:12
Episode Cover

WR676: Softswitch

Thanks for your patience over the past week. I didn't expect COVID to hit me so hard, but I'm back (well, recovering) with one...

Listen

Episode 190

July 27, 2016 01:11:03
Episode Cover

WR190: Sara Stasiuk / Leonard Sumner

We're recording outdoors this week, sitting behind the mainstage at Winnipeg's iconic meeting place, The Forks. For three days in August (the 12th through...

Listen