WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Episode 511 August 13, 2020 01:01:06
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'
Witchpolice Radio
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Aug 13 2020 | 01:01:06

/

Hosted By

Sam Thompson

Show Notes

There’s an excellent new (old) documentary out now about Winnipeg’s mid-‘00s hardcore scene, called [*The Manitoba Connection*](http://www.zellcoproductions.com/projects/the-manitoba-connection/). Here's a conversation with two guys whose bands were integral parts of that scene — Cam Scott (Under Pressure) and Russ Wardell (DSC, Hard Boiled). We talked about the film (directed by [Brian Barnhart](http://www.imdb.com/name/nm7224707/?ref_=tt_ov_dr)), their experiences in that tight-knit musical community, bands that time forgot, reflections on punk rock and society, and a whole lot more. I included some tracks in here by the likes of Under Pressure, [Hard Boiled](http://winnipeghardcorearchive.bandcamp.com/album/hard-boiled-demo-1998), [The Insaniacs](http://theinsaniacs.bandcamp.com/), and [Fuckmorgue](http://eyeandearcontrol.bandcamp.com/album/dead-i-will-not-be-forgotten). Check out the film today on Amazon Prime! This episode brought to you by [Lana Winterhalt](http://lanawinterhalt.bandcamp.com/), [Sean Burns](http://seanburns.bandcamp.com/), and [Unscripted Moments](http://unscriptedmoments.libsyn.com/)! Don’t forget to check out some socially-distanced shows at [the Park Theatre](http://www.myparktheatre.com/), who have slowly reopened after a long COVID-19 closure. Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case!

Other Episodes

Episode 244

August 16, 2017 01:08:16
Episode Cover

WR244: Agapito

They're back! Our friends in Winnipeg supergroup [Agapito](https://agapito.bandcamp.com/releases) have been busy since their last appearance on the show [(Dec. 2016)](https://witchpolice.podiant.co/e/34d1d3f7db8214/). Most notably, they hit...

Listen

Episode 599

June 17, 2021 00:49:04
Episode Cover

WR599: Quick Hits V

This is the fifth “Quick Hits” episode – a compilation of micro-interviews with four artists. It’s a fun way for the podcast to expand...

Listen

Episode 409

August 15, 2019 00:56:04
Episode Cover

WR409: FreakingSnap

[FreakingSnap](http://freakingsnap.bandcamp.com/) is an extremely prolific local electronic/experimental artist. He's released over 400 albums (and counting), and as we discuss on this episode, it's all...

Listen