WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'

Episode 511 August 13, 2020 01:01:06
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'
Witchpolice Radio
WR511: 'The Manitoba Connection'
/

Hosted By

Sam Thompson

Show Notes

There’s an excellent new (old) documentary out now about Winnipeg’s mid-‘00s hardcore scene, called [*The Manitoba Connection*](http://www.zellcoproductions.com/projects/the-manitoba-connection/). Here's a conversation with two guys whose bands were integral parts of that scene — Cam Scott (Under Pressure) and Russ Wardell (DSC, Hard Boiled). We talked about the film (directed by [Brian Barnhart](http://www.imdb.com/name/nm7224707/?ref_=tt_ov_dr)), their experiences in that tight-knit musical community, bands that time forgot, reflections on punk rock and society, and a whole lot more. I included some tracks in here by the likes of Under Pressure, [Hard Boiled](http://winnipeghardcorearchive.bandcamp.com/album/hard-boiled-demo-1998), [The Insaniacs](http://theinsaniacs.bandcamp.com/), and [Fuckmorgue](http://eyeandearcontrol.bandcamp.com/album/dead-i-will-not-be-forgotten). Check out the film today on Amazon Prime! This episode brought to you by [Lana Winterhalt](http://lanawinterhalt.bandcamp.com/), [Sean Burns](http://seanburns.bandcamp.com/), and [Unscripted Moments](http://unscriptedmoments.libsyn.com/)! Don’t forget to check out some socially-distanced shows at [the Park Theatre](http://www.myparktheatre.com/), who have slowly reopened after a long COVID-19 closure. Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case!

Other Episodes

Episode 202

October 18, 2016 01:00:27
Episode Cover

WR202: UMFM Pledge-O-Rama Mixtape

Every year around this time, we head down to UMFM's studio to record a live on-air episode in support of the station's Pledge-O-Rama fundraiser. We've done it every year since 2013, but this year we ran into a conflict. Our scheduled live episode was the same night as our live Shoot First, Ask Questions Later event onstage at the Handsome Daughter ...so instead of a live episode, we aired (last Sunday) a clip show, essentially. We're calling it a "mixtape" because -- similar to last year's "mixtape" episode -- it's basically a compilation of some of the live performances we've had on the show over the past year. This certainly isn't a full document of the 2016 performances, though. There are a number of excellent live tunes that didn't fit due to time restrictions (and you can check those out here). ...

Listen

Episode 114

February 18, 2015 01:12:01
Episode Cover

WR114: The Thrashers

** ** Surf-punks **[The Thrashers](https://www.facebook.com/thrashersrocknroll)** are about to release their sci-fi opus, _[Robot Invaders From the Death Galaxy](http://thethrashers.bandcamp.com/album/robot-invaders-from-the-death-galaxy),_ but first they sat down to talk about “dust” songs, skateboarding, space robots and more! Recorded on location with the portable doohickey. ...

Listen

Episode 340

December 05, 2018 00:48:37
Episode Cover

WR340: Rob Knaggs

Cellist and honourary Manitoban [Rob Knaggs](http://www.robknaggs.com/) – last heard on [episode #284](http://witchpolice.podiant.co/e/363ae3590cca36/) – is shipping back out to Australia in a few weeks, but not before releasing another EP of Arctic-inspired post-rock. The record drops Dec. 8 at a [two-set farewell extravaganza](http://www.facebook.com/events/1176537939180515/), alongside fellow past Witchpolice guests, Stonewall folk duo [Two Crows For Comfort](http://witchpolice.podiant.co/e/36bee4c9458bd4/). We talk about Rob's connection to this country and province, the new record, his plans to come back, and much more. This episode brought to you by our friends at [the Park Theatre](http://myparktheatre.com/). Thanks to everyone who has supported the podcast thus far. Thanks to supporters like you, we can keep churning out interviews twice a week! If you like the show, please head down to [patreon.com/witchpolice](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice) and for as little as $1 a month (less than 12 cents an episode), you can help keep the lights on! ...

Listen