WR240: The Bloodshots

Episode 240 July 20, 2017 01:08:58
WR240: The Bloodshots
Witchpolice Radio
WR240: The Bloodshots
/

Hosted By

Sam Thompson

Show Notes

This week, we're joined by all four members of Selkirk, MB's **[The Bloodshots](https://www.facebook.com/thebloodshots204/)**! They blend elements of punk and blues into a blast of straight-ahead rock n' roll. Coming off a recent nomination at 2017's [Indigenous Music Awards](https://www.indigenousmusicawards.com/nominees/view,profile/211), the Bloodshots have been making a name for themselves as an opening act for high-profile rock acts. Check 'em out July 20 (that's _tomorrow_ ) on a bill with Buckcherry at Club Regent Casino!

Other Episodes

Episode 350

January 16, 2019 00:36:31
Episode Cover

WR350: Panicland

It's an update on Winnipeg pop outfit [Panicland](http://www.paniclandtheband.com/), who were [last on the podcast around this time last year.](http://witchpolice.podiant.co/e/35dd64632dd0b6/) We talk about their new single, '[The Edge](http://www.paniclandtheband.com/the-edge)', their future recording plans, how they deal with the 'boy band' label, and much, much more! This episode is brought to you by our friends at the [Park Theatre](http://myparktheatre.com/) and by [Demedash Effects](http://www.demedasheffects.com/), a local company that makes hand-made guitar effect pedals like the glorious T-120 Videotape Echo. Thanks to everyone who has supported the podcast thus far. Thanks to supporters like you, we can keep churning out interviews twice a week! If you like the show, please head down to [patreon.com/witchpolice](http://patreon.com/witchpolice) and for as little as a $1 month (less than 12 cents an episode), you can help keep the lights on! ...

Listen

Episode 529

October 15, 2020 00:43:51
Episode Cover

WR529: Nigel Webber

[Nigel Webber](http://www.instagram.com/makingplansfornigel/) is a local writer and the author of the upcoming book [Gritty City](http://www.instagram.com/grittycitywpg/), an oral history of Winnipeg hip-hop. We talked about the ambitious project, the wide range of artists he has interviewed already, some of the long-lost Winnipeg rap records he has yet to hear, and more! Get a taste of Nigel’s project in this month's Stylus Magazine, which includes his hard-to-argue-with [list of Winnipeg’s top 100 rap songs](http://ckuw.ca/stylus/2020/10/06/winnipeg-state-of-mind-top-100-winnipeg-hip-hop-songs/). This episode brought to you by [Rob Crooks](http://robcrooks.bandcamp.com/), whose outstanding new album, Introducing the Ghost, is out now from [Saskatoon Folk Rap Records](http://saskatoonfolkraprecords.bandcamp.com/)! It’s also brought to you by our pals at the [Beer Boutique](http://www.facebook.com/beerboutiquewpg/)! Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case! ...

Listen

Episode 519

September 10, 2020 00:47:16
Episode Cover

WR519: Silver Clouds

Rod and Dave from [Silver Clouds](http://linktr.ee/silverclouds) — a post-punk/pop/etc.-inspired group with an outstanding ‘90s Winnipeg pedigree (Duotang, Novillero, Transonic, etc.) — are on the show. We talked about their [new Disintegration Records release](http://disintegrationrecords.bandcamp.com/album/silver-clouds), getting set to play a ‘first’ show later this month despite the project’s decade-plus history, and much more. This episode brought to you by [the Gumshoe Strut](http://thegumshoestrut.bandcamp.com/album/heartbeat-ep)'s new Heartbeat EP, and by [Sean Burns](http://seanburns.bandcamp.com/), whose new album of truckin’ songs is raising funds for Times Change(d), where it was recorded. Join us at the third annual [Manitoba Podcast Festival](http://www.facebook.com/mbpodfest/), which takes place entirely online, Sept. 26-27! Huge thanks to everyone who supports the podcast on [Patreon](http://www.patreon.com/witchpolice). You can help out for as little as $1 a month if you like the show and want to throw some change in the guitar case! ...

Listen